Books…Books…and more Books

In my last entry I mentioned that I recently bought a Barnes & Nobles Nook Simple Touch. I’ve been enjoying books from all sorts of sources such as Barnes & Nobles, Kobo, Amazon, & my local library. Oh my I think I’m getting carried away from all the excitement I feel. Reading really truly excites me and in the past I was ashamed of this but have come to appreciate the fact that I love books!! I’ve recently stumbled upon a YouTube community called: Book tubers- they vlog about books (they do book hauls, book reviews, bookshelf tours, etc). It’s so amazing!! I was just so excited when I came across this community. Just 2 days ago I decided to film an introduction for my own book tubing channel on YouTube but it didn’t turn out so great. My face was green. GREEN!!! Really? Anyhoo, I plan on recording a video just as soon as I am done reading a book I got from the library called Across the Universe by Beth Revis. I’m probably going to do a book review on it. I might even do a What’s On My Nook? video too. Although I’ve been getting a ton of books free and fairly cheap and have really been rediscovering my love for reading (that I really didn’t lose) I must say that writing is my love but I suppose the two go hand and hand. I have to step back, take a breath and slow down when book hunting. Oh and I’ve recently discovered the name of one of my favorite genres: dystopian fiction. Examples of books in this genre are: Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, 1984 by George Orwell, Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card, The Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, Divergent by Veronica Roth, Delirium by Lauren Oliver, Matched by Ally Condie and Across the Universe by Beth Revis (what I’m currently reading). I love this genre but I’d always just called it science fiction/fantasy but now I know it by name. I am also a fan of cozy mysteries (light mysteries where the murder happens off page; there’s no blood & gore, there’s few swear words) (this isn’t written in stone there are exceptions). I love these two genres among others. I’ve also noticed lately most of the books on my to be read (TBR) list happen to be young adult (YA) fiction. What’s that about? That fact like reading is something I will not be ashamed of.

Until next time…happy reading

Fairly Literary

Leave a Reply

