Comics Currently On My Radar

 

I’m a comic book fan. I’m a comic book fan? I’m a comic book fan! I’m a comic book fan & by now of course you’ve noticed the various ways in which I can express the fact.

I’ll share the comic books that are currently on my radar. Some are a couple of years old, some more recent & others have been around for a while.

image

What: Lady Killer
Who: Joelle Jones
Dark Horse comics
What it’s about: It’s a dark comedy, action filled comic about a mother, wife & homemaker named Josie that also doubles as a ruthless, trained killer for hire! An original comedy series that combines the wholesome imagery of early 1960s domestic bliss with a tightening web of murder, paranoia, and cold-blooded survival.

Commentary: This series was recommended by a regular patron at my local comic bookstore. He said, I’m sure you’ll like this one. It’s new [purchased on the release date] & the plot seems interesting. Here take a look through it. I looked through it & was so excited that the protagonist was a strong female. Yes she’s a housewife but she’s got killer skills literally. Josie reminds me of Bree Van de Kamp from Desperate Housewives with a touch of James Bond in skill.

image

What: Birthright
Who: Joshua Williamson
Skybound (Image) comics
What it’s about: For the Rhodes family, losing their son was the most devastating thing that could have occurred…but it couldn’t prepare them for what happened when he returned!

Commentary: This one reminded me of the film adaptation, Deep End of the Ocean [based on Jacqueline Mitchard’s book] but with a fantasy element to the story. I love this series & Joshua Williamson has a fangirl for life in me. He does such a wonderful job crafting the story.

image

What: Revival
Who: Tom Seeley
Image comics
What it’s about: ln rural central Wisconsin, Officer Dana Cypress is trying to solve a murder  when one day the dead are coming back to life. Now Officer Cypress must deal with the media scrutiny, religious zealots, and government quarantine that has come with them. In a town where the living have to learn to deal with those who are supposed to be dead, everyone alive or undead, is a suspect.

Commentary: I expected this series to be similar to The Walking Dead [listed below]. It has a similar vibe to TWD but the dead in this series are similar to The Returned (TV show) [there’s a French & American version]. The comic book series is pretty interesting & as of this post still ongoing.

image

WhatNailbiter
Who: Joshua Williamson
What it’s about: Buckaroo, Oregon has given birth to sixteen of the vilest serial killers in the world. An obsessed FBI profiler investigating the town has suddenly gone missing, and now an NSA Agent must work with the notorious serial killer Edward “Nailbiter” Warren to find his friend and solve the mystery of “Where do serial killers come from?”

Commentary: This series does seem pretty gory [If the cover is of any indication]. I like the mystery aspect of the series so far & hope to enjoy the series as I continue further.

image

What: The Flash [New 52]
Who: Francis Manapul
DC Comics
What it’s about: Struck by a bolt of lightning and doused in chemicals, Central City Police scientist Barry Allen was transformed into the fastest man alive. Tapping into the energy field called The Speed Force, he applies a tenacious sense of justice to protect an serve the world as The Flash! [rebooted version of the Silver Age Flash -Barry Allen]

Commentary: I’m a big fan of the Flash & may do a whole post on how that came about some time in the future. It’s a superhero, he’s a forensic scientist, there’s even a TV show on The CW based on him.

image

What: Low
Who: Rick Remender
Image Comics
What it’s about: Millennia ago, mankind fled the earth’s surface into the bottomless depths of the darkest oceans. Shielded from a merciless sun’s scorching radiation, the human race tried to stave off certain extinction by sending robotic probes far into the galaxy to search for a new home among the stars. Generations later, one family is about to be torn apart in a conflict that will usher in the final race to save humanity from a world beyond hope

Commentary: I thought of this old school cartoon called Jabberjaw when I discovered this comic. It has potential but at the moment I’ve only one issue.

image

What: Girls
Who: Joshua & Jonathan Luna
Image Comics
What it’s about: One night, Ethan Daniels bumps into a mysterious woman who will change his life and maybe even the world.

Commentary: I was skeptical about this series. I think I  stumbled upon it while looking up various comics on eBay. I looked for various reviews on it but didn’t find many. I took a gamble and purchased it from eBay. It’s intriguing and has a supernatural element to it [as do a lot of the others listed so I guess I’ve got a type] 😉.

image

What: The Walking Dead
Who: Robert Kirkman
Skybound (Image) Comics
What it’s about: Rick Grimes & his group of survivors seek refuge while trying to survive both the living & the dead that now walk among them.

Commentary: Most people by now, have heard of The Walking Dead. There’s also a show based on the comics. Even if you have never seen the show or read the comics I’m sure you’ve heard of it. It’s full of suspense & isn’t just about a zombie apocalypse bit a story of survival.

image

What: Saga
Who: Brian K. Vaughn
Image Comics
What it’s about: Two soldiers from warring extraterrestrial races fall in love & risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.

Commentary: This series is said to be heavily influenced by Star Wars. I’ll let you in on a secret:[ I haven’t seen the whole series.] I hope we can still be friends! This series features wonderful illustrations  accompanied by a well crafted story.

image

What: Fables
Who: Bill Willingham
What it’s about: When a savage creature known only as the Adversary conquered the fabled lands of legends and fairy tales, all of the infamous inhabitants of folklore were forced into exile. Disguised among the normal citizens of modern-day New York, these magical characters have created their own peaceful and secret society within an exclusive luxury apartment building called Fabletown.

Commentary: The series reminds me of both Grimm and Once Upon a Time . Both shows have different vibes but share inspirations they’re based on. I think some elements of the comic series show just a bit on the TV shows but probably OUAT more so than Grimm. The series has spawned a spinoff series called Fairest that I have yet to read but plan to once I’ve finished Fables.

image

What: Cyborg [New 52]
Who: David F. Walker
DC Comics
What it’s about: Victor Stone has had his share of near-death experiences—it’s part of what made him the cyber-enhanced superhero Cyborg in the first place. But after his latest brush with death, something has changed with Vic’s cybernetics. They’re evolving, and no one can explain why! [Can be deemed the first solo series revolving around a Justice League fan favorite, Cyborg]

Commentary: I was over the moon when I heard Cyborg was getting his own solo series. Not sure if you’ve noticed by my profile photo but I’m a woman of color. There aren’t a lot of women of color in mainstream comics. I believe representation matters in media!  Even though Cyborg isn’t a black superheroine he is a black superhero which is such a beautiful thing to me. This comic series is off to a great start & hope it continues.

image

What: Ms. Marvel [Kamala Khan]
Who: G. Willow Wilson
Marvel Comics
What it’s about: Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City — until she’s suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts

Commentary: This series has wowed me! Not only is Kamala a regular girl that becomes a superheroine but she’s also a fangirl! Reading that made this fangirl heart of mine beat rapidly with joy! Kamala is Pakistani American & Muslim which also made me very happy! She’s actually Marvel’s first Muslim character. I’m neither but to see it represented on page gave me joy! Diversity aside- this series is a great so far. I enjoy that Kamala isn’t just another hero but very relatable. #GirlPower

image

What: Ultimate Comics Spider-Man
Who: Brian Michael Bendis
Marvel Comics
What it’s about: After the Death of Spider-Man story arc, in which Peter Parker was killed and the mantle of Spider-Man is passed to Miles Morales.

Commentary: I’m not a huge fan of Peter Parker’s Spider-Man although I can credit that comic as being among the first comics I’ve read. This series [Miles Morales] was my chance to start fresh with a new hero! I gave it a shot & must say I’m enjoying this series as well.

NOTE: I was fortunate enough to have enjoyed each of these comics and hope to review each in future posts.

Do you have any comic books you’d suggest or recommend? Have you read any of the comics listed? Feel free to mention in the comments below.

Thanks for reading/skimming/viewing this post. ❤

8 thoughts on “Comics Currently On My Radar

  1. Yes, I’m so ready for Girls! The others are all indie comics.

    Dayblack is from Rosarium publishing. It’s about a former slave that was bitten by a vampire while working in the cotton field. 400 years later he is a tattoo artist living in a town that has such dense pollution that he can move around no problem. He becomes a hired gun of sorts.

    The Legend of Luther Strode is by image comics.

    He is this guy who reads a book about becoming stronger and becomes a vigilante. The art work is phenomenal.

    Dayglow is by Publish Enemies

    A deadly virus breaks out and mankind is on the brink of extinction. 5,000 people are selected to be cytogenetically preserved but when they wake up years later the earth is far different thanks to the virus.

    Lastly The Dead is by indie produced too

    It’s about a guy who wakes up after dying to discover that he is stuck in this house. There are various rooms with monsters and such, and if the main character isn’t careful he could be stuck in the house for the rest of eternity.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, I’ve gotta check those out! They seem intriguing. Thanks.
      The Legend of Luther Strode sounds familiar. I may have seen that on Image Comics website I’m scanning that a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Girls? Finally someone who knows what that is! I’m excited for the new Lady Killer comics I think they come out next year. I’ve heard of Secret Wars but I don’t think I’ve heard of any of the rest. I have to look into those.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

