My thoughts on Miss USA

image
Not too long ago, Deshauna Barber was crowned the winner of the Miss USA pageant. I just wanted to take a moment to bask in  #BlackGirlMagic because events such as this (unfortunately) don’t happen too often. Not only is the winner a woman of color so were the other two runner ups. In this very moment, I’m filled with so much joy. I use to sit at home watching pageant shows & even wanted to participate but always felt discouraged because none of the faces looked like me. I’m glad that young girls today have someone like Deshauna to look up to & know it’s possible for a woman of color or even a soldier (as Deshauna served in the Armed forces) to compete & even win a pageant. As I sort out my FEELS I’ll write on this later in the week.

Leave a Reply

