Top 5 Wednesdays-Settings I Want to See More Of

This week is my first time participating in Top 5 Wednesdays created by Lainey. Every Wednesday on the Goodreads group a (literary) theme is given and participants are to come up with a top 5 list for said theme. To read more about how T5W works feel free to visit the Goodreads group above, Lainey’s YouTube channel (link is above “Lainey”) or visit her on Twitter

Today’s theme is Settings I Want to See More Of. There are so many places I’d like to see more of in literature so it’s somewhat difficult to come up with just 5 but here it goes:

image

Ancient Worlds

Such worlds such as Game of Thrones (George R.R. Martin), An Ember in the Ashes (Sabaa Tahir) and even Outlander (Diana Gabaldon) would qualify as ancient worlds. I’d love to read more books that take place in ancient worlds. Earlier today I was on a search for Young Adults (YA) fiction that took place in ancient Africa. I did find a few books that took place in ancient Egypt which I figured I would find but I was looking for more. I’m not quite sure where exactly in ancient Africa but I suppose I was looking for something outside of ancient Egypt. I don’t have a problem with YA fiction with an ancient Egyptian setting but it seemed like this is a go-to setting. I want to find more (preferably YA) books with an ancient African setting outside of Egypt.
image

A Galaxy Far Far Away

To my knowledge there aren’t a lot of YA books that qualify in the same category as Star Wars. I did read a book called Across the Universe by Beth Revis (reviewed) that could be categorized as a somewhat of a space opera. I’d like to see more YA fiction as well as crossover fiction.
image

Fictional hospitals

One of my favorite shows was Scrubs and with each episode I felt this particular world within Sacred Heart Hospital came alive. I watched as Seattle Grace Hospital became Seattle Grace Mercy West Hospital in Grey’s Anatomy.Each week there were various patients and just as much drama and lessons learned. If I were to read more books with such a setting that’d be wonderful.

image

Atlantis

I’d love to see that there were more books that took place underwater. I mean there’s SpongeBob SquarePants and he has several comic books along with a popular show but if there were a more suspenseful tale told in an aquatic region of Atlantis I’d be excited to come across it.

image

Deserted Island

As much as I have a great disdain for the TV show Lost, I wouldn’t mind reading a good book that took place on a deserted island. Arrow has comic books where Oliver Queen is stranded on a deserted island. I like the show but not too big a fan of the flashbacks utilized to illustrate a connection to the past and present. Even still, if done correctly I’d like to find a book set on a deserted island.

Save

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesdays-Settings I Want to See More Of

  1. I’d like to see more underworld settings, not Tolkien but an unknown society in our existing world. Something like Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere. I’m sure there is a name for that genre, I don’t know it. Wish I did, would be a lot easier to find more to read like it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the genre is speculative fiction. That particular genre includes a wide range of subgenres. I’ve not yet read Neverwhere but I do plan to do so. I hear good things about it. It would be wonderful to read more books that were set in an unknown underwater setting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

