Comic Book Review: Starlight #1 

A photo I had fun with

Starlight Issue #1               Mark Millar|Goran Parlov    Ive Svorcina|Marko Sunjic|  Nicole Boose|Tim Daniel|  Drew Gill|Image Comics  March 4, 2014

Variant cover

Summary: Forty years ago, Duke McQueen was the space hero who saved the universe. But then he came back home, got married, had kids, and grew old. Now his children have left, and his wife has passed away, leaving him alone with nothing except his memories…until a call comes from a distant world asking him back for his greatest adventure. This title launched the Millarworld Universe. 
 


You know how some stories start in the middle of the action? Well, Starlight doesn’t do that at all. It begins with Duke McQueen, a test pilot on a planet called Tantalus after he defeated a dictator. There’s a lot of stories that may have began in battle. I was pleasantly surprised when Starlight didn’t.

In a previous post, I spoke of my fun weekend at a comic con. What I may have left out was the fact that I came home with at least 22 comics. Also, most of them were free. The guy in charge of the booth was so nice to just let me have my pick of the comics I wanted. Starlight Issue #1 was one of the free comics. I read it on my ride to the zoo earlier which left me with the question, What happens next

I’m really excited about reading the series. I’m aware this comic came out 2 years ago. I could’ve easily been spoiled but I’m thankful to say that hasn’t happened. To be honest, I rarely get spoiled. I call it one of the perks of having ADHD. There’s so much on my mind some things just don’t register. Unfortunately, there’s a downside to that. I’m all about the positive though! 

Speaking of, I realize the last few post weren’t necessarily on the positive side but they were honest & raw which may happen from time to time. 

As always, thanks so much for reading and stopping by.

If you’re reading a comic book I’d like it if you shared. Have any comic book recommendations? Have you read Starlight? What did you think? Plan on reading Starlight? Let me know. 

3 thoughts on “Comic Book Review: Starlight #1 

      1. Well getting the rest is just something to look forward to then! I’ll be hitting my comic store tomorrow for New Comic Book Day 🙂 and I’ll see what I can turn up for myself too.

        Like

Leave a Reply

