Flava In Ya Ear Friday


Today’s Flava In Ya Ear Friday is a bit different than the previous posts. Although I will recommend something, first I’d like to address something that’s been on my mind: podcasts. In case you don’t know what that is just think of it as you would a YouTube video only no viewing is required. Instead, you would be listening.

Let’s say you work in an office or have a desk. I’ll assume you have a break. Let’s say on your break you have an option to

  1. Read a book
  2. Watch a video
  3. Listen to audio

On a perfect break you’d get to do all three but how often does that happen? Right?

So which one do you think is the likeliest answer to be picked? In the past, I’d have picked A. but recently I’ve found that audio works best for me so I’d pick C.

Almost half of Americans listen to online radio each year. In 2013, 1 billion podcast subscriptions were purchased. This has tripled in past years. I’d like to think in some regards we’ve managed to return to the days of radio. I’d like to imagine the days when soap operas were broadcast on the radio and people would gather around to listen. Whether we’re in the car, on the bus, riding bikes, during a commute, on lunch or dinner break podcasts or some form of audio is utilized.

Now for today, I’d like you all to check out Sara Polton’s Answering Machine Podcast

I have only listened to a couple of episodes so far but I am definitely excited to hear more. The show is comedic and very entertaining. If you’d like to know more here’s a description from courtesy of the show’s Facebook page: An old timey radio drama brought into the modern era telling the story of vegetarian Lila Rose’s story post college through her voice mails.

How fitting that the description mentions old timey radio drama.

Feel free to like the Facebook page, Follow Sara on Twitter, check out her website and check her out on Twitch. She also has a book on Amazon Kindle called Ulysses. I hope you enjoy all the goodies created by Sara. I’d say she’s one to watch, very creative and entertaining.

Have you heard of Answering Machine Podcast? If so what are your thoughts about the show? Are there any podcasts that you’d recommend? What are they? Feel free to sound off in the comments. Thank you so much.

 

As always, thanks for reading and have a spectacular day!

 

3 thoughts on “Flava In Ya Ear Friday

  1. I haven’t heard of the Answering Machine podcast, but I’ll have to keep an eye out. Two that I absolutely love and listen to while either walking or riding my stationary bike (boring but necessary exercise) are Lore Podcast and Solve It Podcast. Lore is creepy history – I love that stuff! – and Solve It is unsolved mysteries but with a twist. I highly recommend them both.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for commenting. Yes, definitely check out Answering Machine. It’s funny from what I’ve heard so far. Everyone can always use a good laugh. Thanks for recommending the two podcasts. I’ve heard Lore before, you’re right it’s pretty creepy. I haven’t heard Solve It but I’ll be sure to check it out. Thanks again.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

