Childhood Wonderment

You know when you were younger, you’d pass by nice house and cars? Remember you’d adamantly profess, Dibs. That’s my car. Or That’s my house?
  

What happened to that excitement? Where is that fire that drove your enthusiasm? Drove your passion? I’m sure if you search it’s still there. It’s probably buried under the hood of adulting. I’d love to reclaim that childhood wonderment. So why not? How about you? 
Feel free to sound off in the comments. I’d love to know your thoughts.

2 thoughts on “Childhood Wonderment

  1. You know, this kind of excitement has never really left me, Rabia. Things fill me with wonder that other people find completely mundane, or at least wouldn’t describe the effect that it has on them as “wonderment.” A lot of people I meet (especially those around my age) seem incredibly cynical, as though they’ve seen it all, done it all, and now all they’re doing is marking time in life with nothing to look forward to, really.

    If they truly don’t have anything to look forward to, that’s sad. If they simply think they don’t, that’s even sadder to me.

    P.S. Ooh, I just found a great Salon.com article related to this topic, that discusses novelist David Foster Wallace’s views on how cynicism and irony might “ruin culture:” http://www.salon.com/2014/04/13/david_foster_wallace_was_right_irony_is_ruining_our_culture/

    Unfortunately, I agree with him. That’s one reason I love George Lucas’ Star Wars movies (yes, all of them, despite the Prequels’ many, many flaws): he didn’t saddle them with self-conscious snarkiness and an inability to actually make the audience *feel* a sense of open-faced heroism.

    Meanwhile, as fun as the Marvel movies are, they practically can’t go a minute without a character making a snarky comment. I enjoyed Iron Man because it felt different, but the *entire series* carries that same attitude, and I burned out on them a couple years ago because of it.

    Anyway, this was a longer comment than I intended to write, Rabia, but thanks for posting this. Very discussion-worthy topic. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I kept meaning to get back to you days ago. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. You’re right, there’s a lot of cynicism in plenty of people but it is saddening when younger people are cynical. I’m a millennial and find a lot of my peers are somewhat cynical. The world provides hundreds of reasons to be cynical but the best thing is to combat it with a balance of positivity, faith and reality. Thanks again and it definitely is something I hope to address again in future posts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

